Washington State University Mutual Assistance and MOU

Mutual Assistance Agreements and Memorandums of Understanding

The Washington State University Police Department has statutory law enforcement jurisdiction over the Pullman Campus. It also has “Notices of Consent” from the Pullman Police Department and the Whitman County Sheriff to patrol areas adjacent to campus. These notices cover jurisdiction, authority, responsibility and liability issues. The Washington State University Police Department has mutual aid agreements with the cities of Moscow and Lewiston, Idaho and Latah County, Idaho. These agreements outline the authority, liability, financial obligations and equipment used by each agency. Washington State University also has a specific MOU with 15 other agencies in the area to share confidential law enforcement information.

There is a Mutual Aid Agreement among Washington State University, University of Washington, Western Washington University, Central Washington University, Eastern Washington State University and The Evergreen State College that addresses law enforcement situations common to all of the universities.

The City of Pullman provides Fire, Emergency Medical Services and major HAZMAT response to the Pullman Campus.

Washington State University-Pullman has a variety of equipment (heavy and light), technology, facilities and resources that far exceed local capabilities. In case of a major emergency impacting the area, WSU would cooperate with local and State law enforcement, fire, emergency management and public health agencies to make these resources available to the extent permitted by law.

A memorandum of agreement is in the review process to provide medical surge capacity for the area using the resources and personnel of the College of Veterinary Medicine.

The mutual aid agreements are reviewed annually and updated if needed.